WHAT IS THE challenge fund?

The Sèmè City Development Agency (ADSC), in partnership with the World Bank and the National Agency for the Promotion of Heritage and the Development of Tourism (ANPT), is launching a new call for innovation with the Challenge Fund 2. This year, the goal is to connect innovative startups with local communities to improve tourism in Benin.

The first edition of the Challenge Fund took place in 2017 and brought entrepreneurs together to reflect on and innovate in the tourism sector. Following a rigorous selection process, 4 projects were prized at the Innovation Made in Africa Forum (FORIMA). The entrepreneurs who received $ 150,000 are currently supported in the implementation of their prototypes by Incub’IMA, Sèmè City’s first incubator.

This year, 7 local communities in Benin will serve as prime prototyping locations for entrepreneurs to present their innovative ideas for the tourism experience of the future, while taking into consideration the challenges that these local communities face.

Abomey, Cotonou, Porto-Novo, Grand Popo, Ouidah, Nikki and Natitingou will be your labs in this a win-win experiment.

Many participants expressed their interest in Challenge Fund 2 and attended the various information sessions that we organized across Benin to exchange on this call for innovative in tourism.

We are convinced that the tourism sector in Benin would benefit from all the ideas that are brewing and thus we have given all creative project leads the opportunity to apply to the Challenge Fund 2 by submitting a different project thematic.

The 7 municipalities selected remain the priority experimental territories of the but any project that can be scaled indifferently in all the Beninese municipalities will be considered.

Qu’est ce que le challenge fund ?

Sèmè City, la Cité Internationale de l’Innovation et du Savoir, en partenariat avec la Banque Mondiale et l’ANPT (Agence Nationale de Promotion des Patrimoines et de développement du Tourisme) lance un nouvel appel à innovation avec le Challenge Fund 2. Cette année, le but est de faire collaborer collectivités et startups innovantes afin d’améliorer les offres touristiques au Bénin.

La première édition du Challenge Fund a eu lieu en 2017 pour amener les entrepreneurs à réfléchir et à innover dans le secteur du tourisme. Suite à un rigoureux processus de sélection, 4 lauréats ont été primés lors du FORIMA, Forum Innovation Made in Africa. Les lauréats qui ont reçu chacun 150 000$ de financement sont actuellement accompagnés dans la mise en place de leurs prototypes par Incub’IMA, le 1er incubateur de Sèmè City.

La nouveauté de cette année : 7 collectivités au Bénin serviront de lieux de prototypage afin de permettre aux entrepreneurs de présenter des concepts incarnant le tourisme de demain tout en tenant compte des enjeux auxquels font face ces collectivités.  Les collectivités d’Abomey, Cotonou, Porto-Novo, Grand Popo, Ouidah, Nikki et Natitingou seront vos laboratoires d’expérimentation. Un rendez-vous gagnant-gagnant particulièrement stimulant.

De nombreux participants ont manifesté leur intérêt pour le Challenge Fund 2 et ont assisté aux différentes séances d’information que nous avons organisées à travers le Bénin pour échanger sur cet appel à projets innovants dans le secteur du tourisme.

Nous avons donné l’opportunité à tous les porteurs de projet créatifs, même hors thématique, de postuler au Challenge Fund 2, parce que nous sommes convaincus que le secteur du tourisme au Bénin gagnerait à bénéficier de toutes les idées.

Les 7 communes sélectionnées restent les territoires d’expérimentation prioritaires du Challenge Fund 2, mais tout projet qui peut se décliner indifféremment dans toutes les communes du Bénin a été étudié.